The Contemporary Histories Research Group at Deakin University is seeking individuals who are passionate about modern history, creative writing and other cognate disciplines, and are interested in participating in a fully funded and supported Higher Degree by Research.



The Contemporary Histories Research Group (CHRG) is an interdisciplinary network whose work relates to the strongest echoes of the past in the present. Deakin University has supported the CHRG in its building a profile of distinctive research in Australia and, with international partners.

CHRG members also provide leadership for the Australian Policy and History Network, which is network of historians that recognise the value of historical knowledge in the pursuit of better public policy outcomes and seek to promote historians as constructive participants in policy debates. 



We are looking for individuals who interested in pursuing a PhD. We are interested in prospective candidates who have research interests/research experience/backgrounds in, but not limited to:

  • Australia’s indigenous past, including leadership, contact history and the role of Christianity
  • Modern Pacific history, including special focus on Papua New Guinea
  • US History, including African American History
  • Revolution and the Holocaust in Europe
  • Change in modern Asia
  • Biography and other forms of life writing
  • Decolonisation: from colonial to postcolonial, as shown in historical, fictional and performative interpretations
  • The political uses of history
  • Remembering conflict and its aftermath
  • Material culture and transmission



Our staff members are able to supervise HDR research projects. Follow the links below to find out more about our staff members and their areas of expertise:

Associate Professor Cassandra Atherton

Dr Rebecca Cairns

Associate Professor Steven Cooke

Associate Professor Clare Corbould

Dr Joanna Cruickshank

Dr Donna-Lee Frieze

Associate Professor Helen Gardner 

Dr Jason Gibson

Dr Billy Griffiths

Dr Carolyn Holbrook

Associate Professor Tony Joel

Professor David Lowe

Dr Christopher Mayes

Professor David McCooey

Dr Alyson Miller

Dr Kristine Moruzi

Dr Sarah Pinto

Dr Jonathan Ritchie

Professor Matthew Ricketson

Dr Geoffrey Robinson

Dr Alexandra Roginski

Dr Filip Slaveski

Associate Professor Tiffany Shellam

Dr Victoria Stead

Associate Professor Maria Takolander

Associate Professor Jason Taliadoros

Associate Professor Ann Vickery

Associate Professor Gabby Wolf

Dr Bart Ziino

Ms Aileen Walsh



Successful candidates will receive scholarships of $28,092 p.a. for 3 years (or 2 years for Masters). PhD students are eligible for up to $10,200 additional funding across their degree for research costs, conference attendance, fieldwork and completion costs, in addition to free travel and accommodation to attend the annual HDR summer school. Selected projects may also receive a top-up scholarship of an additional $10,000-$15,000 annually for 3 years. They will become members of the Contemporary Histories Research Group, enjoying access to a stimulating seminar program and opportunities to work with researchers from disciplines of history, creative writing, politics, film, journalism, and law, among others.



To apply, please contact your preferred supervisor directly from the list above. To apply for a scholarship linked to candidature commencing in 2021 you should submit expressions of interest by 31 October 2020. All details, including updates on dates and scholarship opportunities are available at the Deakin Research website. Note: Applicants are required to have a minimum Honours degree, completed with First Class result, or equivalent. Due to the impact of COVID-19, we require prospective candidates to hold an Australian citizenship or international students that are currently in Australia. Only candidates studying full time will be eligible for scholarship








Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Australian Policy
 and History

Find out more